Terroristic Threat Defense Attorneys Monmouth and Ocean County NJ
Serving Clients across the Jersey Shore in Point Pleasant, Toms River, Jackson, Wall, Sea Girt, and Brick.
Charges for simple assault can arise from a variety of situations, including bar fights, game-time scuffles, and domestic violence incidents. Regardless of the origin of these charges, a conviction for a criminal offense classified as “violent” can lead to a host of negative consequences for your life.
Simple assault, which is typically considered a disorderly persons offense, is punishable by a 6-month term of imprisonment in the county jail and up to $1,000 in fines. On the other hand, if you entered into the altercation mutually, you may be charged with a petty disorderly persons offense, which can entail a 30-day county jail sentence and a maximum fine of $500. Both of these charges, which will result in a charge on your criminal record upon conviction, are adjudicated at the Municipal Court level.
With the seriousness of an assault charge hanging over your head, it is critical to find a defense lawyer with significant experience representing clients who face these charges. The Criminal attorney’s At The Bronzino Law Firm have the experience clients need to assist in resolving their assault cases. We know that many times, an assault charge is simply the result of unfortunate circumstances, with a person who was just in the wrong place at the wrong time. Contact our office today or fill out an online form to schedule an appointment, discuss your case, and allow us to guide you through the legal process.
Simple Assault ~ N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a)
The New Jersey Criminal Code addresses simple assault in N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a), stating the following with regard to these offenses:
A person is guilty of assault if he:
(1) Attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another;
(2) Negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
(3) Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
Simple assault is a disorderly person’s offense unless committed in a fight or scuffle entered into by mutual consent, in which case it is a petty disorderly persons offense.
Penalties for Simple Assault in New Jersey
Simple Assault as a Disorderly Persons Offense: maximum sentence of 6 months to be served in the county jail and a fine of up to $1,000
Simple Assault as a Petty Disorderly Persons Offense: maximum sentence of 30 days to be served in the county jail and a fine of up to $500
Contact Jersey Shore Simple Assault Lawyers for Help with Your Case
“Terroristic threats” is a third degree crime in New Jersey, which means you can be punished with up to 3-5 years in prison and fines of up to $15,000 if you are convicted of this offense. This has become a very common crime in New Jersey, and cases are typically based on one person’s word against another’s.
To learn more about how our Monmouth County assault defense lawyers can protect the interests of you or someone you love, contact our Brick or Sea Girt offices at (732) 812-3102 for immediate assistance.